President Yoweri  Museveni will be sworn on May 12th , after winning the presidential election with 58.38% representing  over 6M votes and it will be a public holiday , Information Minister , Ms. Judith Nabakooba has said.

In her weekly  media briefing  Nabakooba  stated that the  swearing-in ceremony  which is expected to be attended by over 20 heads of state and delegations will be held under the theme“ Securing the Future” and the  function will take place at Kololo ceremonial grounds in Kampala starting at 7:00 a.m.

Nabakooba warned any trouble causers that they will be delt with the firm hand of the law -urging Ugandans who have not been invited for the occasion to watch the proceedings on national TV -peacefully . Nabakooba dismissed as a fallacy that there will be a parallel function by the opposition to “swear in “ Robert Kyagulanyi the NUP leader who disputes the outcome of the  polls.

“No one will be allowed to disrupt the swearing in ceremony and those planning any mischief should stand warned that they will face the full force of the law enforcers ,”She stated.

Government according to Nabakooba has invited at least  4,042 people from different categories of Ugandans and they  will strictly follow the covid -19 SOPs to guard against the spread of the deadly pandemic that has left over a million people dead across the world .

Further still, all invited guests will be subjected to a Covid 19 test three days in advance  and their results will be kept in the centralized database at Kololo which will be used as a basis for admission to the ceremonial grounds, the Minister added .

Among the invited people included , 17 delegates from each district, all members of parliament elect, former presidential candidates who participated in the January 14 th general  elections, ministers and ministers of state, NRM party CEC members, members of the East African legislative assembly and representatives of the  business community.  Others are religious and cultural  leaders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *