President Yoweri Museveni on Friday convened CEC the NRM party’s top organ to what sources said was intended to discuss “matters of national strategic importance , foster party cohesion and ensure national unity.”

The meeting attended by former Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga -fresh from a bitter race for speakership, also considered names for various leadership positions as the ruling party starts the process of forming a new government . The Secretary General, Justine Lumumba has since sent a list of 22 MPs to the speaker of Parliament -Jacob Oulanyah to be considered for the Appointments Committee of Parliament.

The proposed members are Dr. Joyce Moriko Kaducu, Dr. Okullo Abuka, Awor Betty Engola, Akello Rose Lilly, Dr. Asiimwe Florence Akiki, Nyirabashitsi Sarah Mateke, Arinaitwe Rwakajara, Kambale Fred Ferigo, Frank Tumwebaze and Mutasingwa Diana.

Others are ,Najjuma Sarah, Kabanda David, Robinah Rwakojo, Namuju Cissy, Kubeketeria James, Orone Denis, Aeku Patrick, Irene Muloni Nafuna, Twalla Fadil, Ndezi Alex , Odoi Benard, and Catherine Mavenjina Akumu.

The nominees are drawn from all regions of Uganda including Buganda and Busoga where the NRM lost in the general elections. ” The NRM will work to secure our traditional political bases in Buganda and Busoga . The party is going to address the issues in those regions -largely development oriented to ensure that we win back our support before the next elections circle,” a senior member of the party told the leading online-news publication –

President Yoweri Museveni is expected to name a new cabinet in the coming days .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *