Gen Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has been nominated the NRM party Presidential candidate for the 2021 general elections at Kololo grounds in a low-key exercise while complying to the government set SOPs to avoid the spread of the deadly coronavirus.

He Electoral commission Chairman, Justice Simon Byabakama, declared Museveni duly nominated to contest for the Presidency for the sixth time amid jubilations by a few of the NRM party bosses that accompanied him for the nomination. He was in the company of his wife Janet Museveni, Vice President Edward Sekandi, Prime Minister Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda, NRM Secretary General Justine Lumumba, Deputy National Vice Chairman Moses Kigongo and the party’s Director information, Mr. Emmanuel Dombo.

Justice Byabakama said that the nominated candidate will have to sign a memorandum of undertaking with the Commission stating that he and his supporters will abide by the EC’s set regulations and time table for public campaigns.

Museveni thanked his supporters in all the districts of Uganda who nominated him for the candidacy and urged them to continue observing all the set government measures to avoid contracting the Covid-19 pandemic that has left more than 100 Ugandans dead.

He also strongly warned elements that are plotting to destabilize the country during the elections season that they will live to regret their actions should they dare engage in acts of hooliganism, intimidation, and violence. “Ugandans should not be scared or threatened by these groups we are ready to deal with them,” a tough talking Museveni stated.

He is slated to launch the NRM manifesto later today under the campaign slogan -securing your future.

 Other presidential candidates expected to be nominated over two days include, John Katumba (independent), Mugisha Muntu (Alliance for National Transformation), and Nancy Linda Kazembe (independent), National Unity Platform aspirant, Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine; Patrick Oboi Amuriat of Forum for Democratic Change party (FDC) and Independents; Willy Mayambala, Fred Mwesigye, and Joseph Kiiza Kabuleeta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *