The NRM returning officer for Kamuli district has declared Hon. Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga the NRM women MP flag bearer after she registered the  biggest win in the  hotly contested primaries where several senior and junior ministers were given the boot by dissatisfied-angry  voters.

 In a show of overwhelming support Kadaga polled 118,748 of the vote with her rival Mugerwa Deborah Mwesigwa receiving 7243  votes .Other  candidates  who will run on the ruling NRM party ticket  in Kamuli  district are , Kibalya Henry who got 20,158 votes for   Bugabula South , john Teira 17,808 Bugabula North, Namatovu Masitula 7,315 for the Municipality , and Martin Mugabi muzaale 36,853 for Buzaya constituency .

Kadaga thanked her supporters for the overwhelming support even when some mafia’s in government where busy maligning her name before President Museveni . “ I take this opportunity to thank all voters and campaign agents. Let’s prepare for the next battle; win it; and serve our people,” a jovial Speaker said.

She added ,”One day, when I quit active politics, I would like to be remembered for three key issues: Speaking out for the underprivileged; introduction of the Certificate of Gender and Equity Compliance — before any law is passed; and striving to end Female Genital Mutilation.”

In Mityana  , Judith Nabakooba the Minister of ICT and NG and incumbent woman MP for Mityana district floored her opponent in the NRM primaries for flag bearers – registering a 86.4% landslide that has paved the way to retain her seat in the 11th parliament .

The triumphant Nabakooba in a message to her supporters after the huge win stated ; “ I’m truly honoured for the trust and overwhelming support I got as the nominated NRM flag bearer-woman MP,Mityana District. This is a vote of confidence-shared victory and a renewal of our commitment to improve service delivery. Onwards to the final race. Thank you all. God bless you. “

In Omoro district , Catherine  Lamwaka  will be the NRM  Party Flag bearer as the woman MP for Omoro district after  she beat her rivals , Amb. Akech Okulu and Grace Atim with a landslide. Lamwaka ‘s huge win where she beat her rivals with well over ten thousand votes means that she is  now at the halfway mark to retain her seat in the 11th parliament  .

As  supporters of Hons  Nabakooba and Lamwaka were celebrating in Mityana and  Omoro districts  at least 10 Ministers were nursing  wounds after they  were thumped by their arch rivals . The hotly contested NRM primaries recorded huge political upsets in Sheema and Koboko municipalities with incumbents Dr. Elioda Tumwesigue and vocal State Minister for Investments Evelyn Anite trailing political novices, Dickson Kateshumbwa and Dr. Charles Ayume , respectively.

But  historicals -Generals Jim Muhwezi and Kahinda Otafiire won with commanding -solid leads in their respective races . In the  east “Maama Mbale” Connie Galiwango  beat her  rival “big sister”Lydia Wanyoto while in Mbarara municipality incumbent Michael Tusiime, lost to his opponent businessman Robert Mwesigwa Rukaari . Others losing include Fred Tumwesigye, Abraham Byandala, Simeo Nsubuga , Peter kibazanga and Molly Kamukama .

Ministers Prof. E. Kamuntu ,David Bahati, Mary Gorrette Kitutu won in  Ndorwa West and  Manafwa while fellow ministers , Mary Karoro, Adolf Mwesigye, Peter Egwang,  Mwesigwa Rukutana  , Beatrice Anywaa aka Maama Mabira /political slay queen -were fighting for their political lives while trailing in their respective races .

 Florence Nebanda won  for the woman MP in Butaleja and Namuganza for Bukono county .

In Ruhama south , Benjamin Kamukama won  while Bata Kamateneti took the ntungamo woman MP flag. In Isingiro North, Lt. Col bright Rwamirama  sailed through together with Nathan Byanyima in Bukanga North  , isngiro South Alex Bakunda, Bukanga county Steven kangwagye; Mbarara city south Mwine mpaka , Mbarara city  woman MP  Rita Atukwase and Kashari  South J.B. Tumusiime and woman MP Margaret Rwebyambu.

Rukutana takes law in his own hands , the Jinja, Kazo and Mbale fracases  

The hotly contested elections went on without major incidents across the country following heavy deployment of security forces . But defeated Mwesigwa Rukutana took the law in his own hands when he grabbed a gun from his security detail and pointed it at civilians travelling in a vehicle . He later calimed that he was defending himself from intruders .

In Jinja and Mbale rival candidates and their supporters  engaged in fist fights accusing each other of manipulating the final tally results .  By Saturday afternoon in many constituencies official results were yet to be announced .

Isolate cases of goons beating and intimidating voters were reported in some villages and police said they were investigating the reported cases .

Other Results:

IBANDA DISTRICT IBANDA SOUTH  Winner: Eng. John Byabagambi 2nd: John Paul Panadol    IBANDA MUNICIPALITY  Winner: Tarsis Rwaburindore  2nd : Deus Mulinde    IBANDA NORTH Winner: Guma Gumisiriza 2nd: Xavier Kyooma   IBANDA WOMAN MP Winner: Jovrine Kaliisa  2nd: Jane Bainomugisha      *KAZO DISTRICT* KAZO COUNTY  Winner: Gordon Bafaki  2nd: Dan Kimosho    KAZO WOMAN MP Winner: Jennifer Muheesi  2nd: Molly Kamukama    *KIRUHURA DISTRICT* NYABUSHOZI COUNTY  Winner: Wilson Kajwengye  2nd: Col. Fred Mwesigye    KASHONGI COUNTY  Winner: Herbert Tayebwa  2nd:  Genensio Tumuramye    KIRUHURA WOMAN MP Winner: Sheila Mwine Katsimbura  2nd: Jovanice Rwenduru    *SHEEMA DISTRICT*  SHEEMA NORTH  Winner: Naome Kibaaju  2nd: Dr. Arthur Mugisha   SHEEMA MUNICIPALITY Winner: Dicksons Kateshumbwa  2nd: Elioda Tumwesigye    SHEEMA SOUTH Winner: Prof. Ephraim Kamuntu  2nd: Eng. Yorokamu Katwiremu    SHEEMA WOMAN MP  Winner: Rosemary Nyakikongoro  2nd: Jacklet Rwabukurukuru    *MITOOMA DISTRICT* RUHINDA SOUTH  Winner: Donozio Kahonda  2nd: Arthur Kazoora    RUHINDA COUNTY Winner: Kahinda Otafiire  2nd: Robert Mbeine    RUHINDA NORTH  Winner: Thomas Tayebwa  2nd: Dr. Moses Twimukye     *MITOOMA WOMAN MP*  winner:Jovah Kamateeka 2nd Agasha Juliet Bashiisha   *BUSHENYI DISTRICT* IGARA EAST  Winner: Michael Mawanda   IGARA WEST  Winner: Mbwatekamwa Gaffa 2nd: Horace Muhanguzi    BUSHENYI – ISHAKA MUNICIPALITY  Winner: Derrick Kabuura  2nd: Marvin Baryaruha    BUSHENYI WOMAN MP Winner: Annet Mugisha  2nd: Mary Karooro Okurut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *