By Our Special Political Reporters
President Yoweri Museveni has named a team of 14 prominent Ugandans, led by Justice and Constitutional Affairs Cabinet Minister, Prof. Ephraim Kamuntu ( Chairman of the Committee) to draft the 2021 NRM party campaigns manifesto.
The new team , impeccable sources told is slated to be sworn tomorrow at an event that will be presided over by President Museveni -two days after he was nominated the sole NRM candidate to contest the 2021 Presidential elections that will go ahead despite the ravaging novel- global Covid-19 pandemic .
Other members selected by Museveni who is also the NRM party national chairman include, his young brother and commander of the multi-billion- Operation Wealth Creation, (OWC), Gen. Salim Saleh Akandwanaho, youthful NRM Deputy Secretary General, Richard Todwong who will also be the committee’s Vice Chairman , parliamentarian , Amos Lugoloobi, Fred Kitaka Mutebi, renowned economist and academic Dr. Ramathan Goobi, Eng Dr. Lule Ivan , Eng. Paul Isaac Musasizi, Ms. Joseline Kateba, Joanita Orishaba, Dr. Innocent Achaye, Eng. Safina Nakazibwe, Mathias Magoola and Bernard Mulengani.
Political parties are now involved in a bee-hive of activities after the national Electoral Commission Chairman, Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi released the new revised roadmap for commencement of various key electoral activities which were suspended three months ago due to a nationwide lockdown and curfew to stem the spread of the deadly Covid-19 pandemic.

The general elections that will allow Ugandans to choose their next president and members of parliament among other political leaders will still go ahead between January 10th-February 8th,2021 but under strict Special Operating Procedures (SOPs) guidelines to contain the spread of the global Covid-19 pandemic.
Nominations for presidential candidates will take place between 2nd-3rd November ,2020, candidates for parliamentary elections will be nominated between 12-13th, October 2020 and those contesting for local governments will be nominated between 7th017th September 2020.
The presidential digital campaigns will be conducted between 10th No,vember 2020 – 8th January 2021 and parliament digital campaigns shall be carried out between 20th October 2020 – 8th January 2021.
The revised roadmap is a crash program to recover the three months lost time and sets June 22nd-July 21st ,2020 as the new dates for political party and organizations to identify flag bearers. Public servants who wish to contest for elective positions for special interest groups should resign their positions by close of this month in any cases latest June 29th,2020 and July 12,2020 for public servants wishing to contest for parliamentary seats . The deadline for resignation by public servants aspiring to contest for Presidential Elections is 31st, October 2020.
The deadline for establishment of academic papers with Electoral Commission by aspiring candidates for Local Government is set for 7th July 2020, aspiring candidates for Parliamentary Elections 11th August 2020 and aspiring candidates for Presidential Elections1st September 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *