The Electoral Commission has today started packing the ballot papers and  Declaration of Results Forms for Presidential and Parliamentary Elections at EC Warehouse in Banda, Kampala, the Chairman Of the EC, Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama has announced .” The activity will be observed by official agents of participating political parties and independent Presidential Candidates,” he said, ahead of what is expected to be tightly contested elections.

The packing process is expected to take a period of seven days, after which the Commission will embark on the second round of packing materials for District/City Local Government Councils Elections.

The ballot papers and DR Forms are the last items to be included into the polling kit; this polling kit is going to be sealed and the serial numbers of the seals will be recorded and shared with political parties and candidates. The kit will be stored in this facility, awaiting dispatch to the respective districts on a date which will be communicated to stakeholders.

“We wish to emphasise that this timely packing and planned dispatch will enable the Commission deliver the polling kit to all districts on schedule. The polling kit includes , Ballot Papers; Declaration Results Forms; Polling Register (National Voters’ Register for the respective Polling Station); Generic Polling Forms which include Accountability of Ballot Papers, Official Report Book, among others,” Byabakama said in a statement released by the EC Spokesman Mr. Paul Bukenya .

Other generic materials include among others , ink pad, indelible ink, pens.
Political parties and all candidates for Presidential Elections were invited to observe the packing of the materials and they have also been invited to observe the packing of the ballot papers and DR Forms.

As the campigns enter the final bend and Ugandans prepare to vote for their next leaders , the number of unopposed MPs for the ruling party -the NRM has increased to 14.

Some of the unopposed MPS are deputy Attorney General , Jackson Rwakafuzi ,Abigaba Mirembe, Lillian Paparu, Arua Woman MP,  Emely Kugonza ,  Buyanja East , Pius Wakabi ,  Bugahya Hoima District, Hilary Lokwang ,  Ik County, Kaabong District,Enock Nyongore , Nakaseke North, Nakaseke District , Gyavira Ssemwanga, Buyamba County, Rakai District, Mary Begumisa, Sembabule district Woman MP and  Eng Cuthbert Abigaba Mirembe ,Kibale county.

Figures from the Electoral Commission show that the 11th parliament will have a total of 529 MPs the highest number since independence .

At least there are 17.6M registered voters who expected to participate in the polls with 9.2 M of women and 8.4M male representing a 52.2% and 47.7% , respectively .

There will be  146 District Women MPs and  353  elected  Constituency MPs.  The special interest groups will have the Youth MPs 5,Workers’ MPs 5, MPs for PWDs  5,MPs for UPDF. 10 and a new additional special group of  MPs for Elderly  5.

The Electoral Commission will conduct the elections in  146 districts with  353 constituencies, 312 Counties, 2,184 Sub-Counties and 10,595 parishes.

The commission headed by Justice Simon Mugenyi  Byabakama has gazette  34,344 polling stations where Ugandans will exercise their constitutional right to vote for their leaders who will govern the country for the next five years .

The total number of registered voters for the 2020/2021 General Elections is 17,658,527. The number of males is 8,439,564 (or 47.79%) while the number of females is 9,218,963 (or 52.21%), according to the EC Ag. Spokesperson ,Paul Bukenya.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *