The Electoral Commission today started the exercise for nominating candidates that will contest in the Local Government Councils By-elections . 
The nominations will be conducted at the respective District/City headquarters, in those electoral areas where the vacancies exist, beginning at 9am and ending at 5pm, a statement released by the EC reads in part .
“Aspiring candidates will be required to fulfil all the requirements for the nomination for each elective position.
Aspiring candidates and their supporters shall further be required to comply with guidelines issued by the Electoral Commission in accordance with the Government of Uganda and Ministry of Health measures against the spread of COVID-19, which include observing social distancing, hand washing, and wearing of masks,” the EC stated .

Due to the prevailing Covid-19 conditions and the threat of a new variant -on the horizon , the EC said an aspiring candidate shall be accompanied to the nomination venue by only two persons, that is, the proposer and the seconder. 

“The aspiring candidate will be allowed to use only two (2) vehicles for purposes of attending the nominations and each vehicle shall not carry more than three persons including the driver.  Convoys and processions shall not be allowed during the nomination exercise.”

The categories to be filled during the by-elections include: – District Chairperson for Kayunga District;- District Women Councilors;- District Directly Elected Councilors; – Municipality Directly Elected Councilors; – Municipality Women Councilors; – Sub-county Chairpersons; – Sub-county Directly Elected Councilors; – Sub-County Women Councilors; and Councillors representing ting Special Interest Groups (SIGs) Councilors (People with Disabilities; Older Persons, Workers and Youth).  The nomination exercise will end tomorrow on Tuesday 30th November 2021. 

According to the EC roadmap-Candidates’ campaign meetings will be conducted for a period of thirteen (13) days, that is, from 2nd to 14th December 2021.Polling and tallying of results for elections of Councillors representing Special Interest Groups (SIGs) shall take place on Wednesday 15th December 2021.Meanwhile polling for the District Chairperson, Kayunga, and other Local Government Councils shall take place on Thursday 16th December 2021, at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.