Minister Col Butiime Inaugurates 5th Uganda Tourism Board (UTB) Board Of Directors

Colonel (Rtd) Tom Butime, the Minister of Tourism, Wildlife and Antiquities, has inaugurated the fifth Board of Directors of the Uganda Tourism Board (UTB) at a function held in Kampala.

UTB is a government agency mandated to promote Uganda globally, ensure quality assurance in tourist facilities, promote tourism investment, and act as a liaison for the private sector.

During the event, Pearl Hoareau Kakooza, Chairperson of TUGATA, was announced as the new Board Chair.

The board includes; Olive Birungi from the Uganda Civil Aviation Authority (UCAA), Sandra Ssali Kebirungi from the Ministry of Finance, Vincent Operabo from the National Planning Authority (NPA), Stephen Masaba representing the Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA), Vivian Lyazi from MTWA, Magret Ojara representing NACCAU, Tony Mulinde representing AUTO, Rashid Kiyimba representing the Uganda Hotel Owners Association (UHOA), Ronald Kawamara from General Tourism, and Lily Ajarova, the Chief Executive Officer (UTB).

Expressing gratitude to the outgoing board members for their valuable contributions to tourism development, Minister Butime urged the new board to seize opportunities and unlock Uganda’s tourism sector’s full potential.

“Their dedication and strategic guidance have been instrumental in positioning Uganda as a must-explore destination for travelers worldwide,” he said.

He noted that the incoming Board of Directors has a wealth of experience, diverse perspectives, and a shared vision for advancing Uganda’s tourism sector.

In her remarks, MTWA Permanent Secretary, Doreen Katusiime, acknowledged the former board’s leadership role in shaping UTB’s strategic direction and fostering collaboration among stakeholders.

She expressed confidence in the collective expertise and commitment of the newly inaugurated board, encouraging them to build upon the foundation laid by their predecessors.

Kakooza, the new Board Chair, thanked the outgoing board for their work and pledged to build upon the foundation they established.

She emphasized the importance of increasing visitor numbers and encouraged board members to leverage their strengths and networks.

The Outgoing Chairman, Hon. Daudi Migereko, urged the new Board to work tirelessly to propel the tourism sector.

Butiime (L) and Daudi Migereko (R).
He encouraged the new Board to pay attention to domestic tourism and ensure collaborations that foster tourism sector growth.

UTB CEO, Lilly Ajarova, appreciated the MTWA leadership and the outgoing board for their contributions to UTB and the tourism industry in Uganda.

She urged the new board to remain steadfast in promoting sustainable tourism and ensuring Uganda’s position as a top tourism destination.

“UTB remains committed to collaborating closely with stakeholders across the tourism industry, government agencies, and local communities to drive innovation, foster sustainable tourism practices, and unlock the full potential of Uganda’s tourism sector,” she noted.

The 4th Board of Directors of the Uganda Tourism Board included; Hon. Daudi Migereko, Dr. Katende Suleiman, Mrs. Suzan Muhwezi Kabonero, Mr. Kirya Eddy, Ms. Biriggwa Yewagnesh Mamo Yogi, Mr. Lyazi Vivian, Mr. Mwanja Paul, Mr. Chemonges Mongea Sabila, Ronald Kagwa, and Ms. Lilly Ajarova as the Chief Executive Officer and Secretary to the Uganda Tourism Board.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *