The National Unity Platform (NUP) , led by musician cum politician has announced its shadow cabinet naming former presidential candidate Dr. Abed Bwanika shadow Agriclture Minister and law don -Yusuf Nsibambi Minister for Works and Transport .

NUP which has the biggest number of opposition MPs is mandated to name shadow opposition leaders in the 11th Parliament and a shadow cabinet. Party Secretary General ,David Lewis Rubongoya repeated his earlier statement that they will take all the positions available to them to continue the struggle for democratization and improve the people’s welfare.

“NUP has consistently informed the nation that it will take all the leadership positions available to it, and use them to advance the strife for freedom and democracy in Uganda,” Rubongoya said.

The NUP Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP), Mathias Mpuuga, signed on the 30 member shadow cabinet with 18 NUP MPs, FDC has been given 8 cabinet slots, while the traditional parties UPC and DP each have one cabinet Minister and two indepedents.

The appointments are in accordance with Article 82A(c) of the constitution of the Republic of Uganda and Rule 14(2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, which provides that “the Leader of the Opposition shall in consultation with his/her party leadership appoint a shadow cabinet from members of the Opposition in Parliament.”

The shadow cabinet holds portfolios and functions corresponding to those of Cabinet ministers and is mandated to provide alternative policy recommendations to government on the floor of Parliament.

List of the shadow cabinet

Wilfred Nuwagaba (Independent) – Attorney General, Shamim Malende (NUP) – Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Muwanga Kivumbi (NUP) – Finance Planning and Economic Devt, Nantongo Fortune Rose (DP) – Gender Labour and Social Dev’t, Atkins Katusabe (FDC) – Public Service, Derrick Nyeko (NUP)-Presidency and Security, Abed Bwanika (NUP)- Agriculture, Brendah Nabukenya (NUP)- Education, Jonathan Odur (UPC)- Defense and Veteran Affairs, Abdallah Kiwanuka (NUP)- Internal Affairs, Timothy Batuwa Lusala (FDC)- Health, Abubaker Kawalya (NUP)- KCCA, Muwada Nkunyingi (NUP)- Foreign Affairs, Ronald Balimwezo (NUP)- Lands and Housing, Asinasi Nyakato (FDC)- Energy and Minerals, Karem Masaba (Ind)- Tourism & Wildlife, Frank Kabuye (NUP)- Youth & Children Affairs, Francis Mwijukye (FDC)- Trade & Industry, Betty Naluyima (NUP)- Local Govts, Hanifa Nabukeera (NUP)- Human Rights, Christine Kaaya Nakimwera (NUP)- Water and Environment, Gorreth Namugga (NUP)- Science Innovations & Technology, Hilary Kiyaga (NUP)- Culture and Performing Arts, Anna Adeke Ebaju (FDC)- Co-operatives & Microfinance, Joyce Bagala (NUP)- Information & Anti-Corruption, Santa Okot (PPP)- Special Regions, Gilbert Olanya (FDC)- East African Community Affairs, Charles Tebandeke (NUP)- Animal Industry and Fisheries, Geoffrey Kayemba (NUP)- Sports.

Others are :

Leader of Opposition in Parliament– Mathias Mpuuga (Nyendo Mukungwe)

Opposition chief whip – John-Baptiste Nambeshe (Manjiya county)

Deputy chief opposition whip – Manjeri Kyebakutika (Jinja City Woman MP)

Commissioner of Parliament – Francis Zaake Butebi (Mityana Municipality)

Chairperson, Public accounts committee– (Medard Lubega Segona (Busiro East)

Vice chairperson, public accounts committee – Asuman Basalirwa (Bugiri Municipality)

Chairperson COSASE – Joel Ssenyonyi (Nakawa West)

Vice Chairperson, COSASE – Lucy Akello (Amuru District Woman MP)

Chairperson, Government Assurances – Betty Nambooze Bakireke (Mukono Municipality)

Committee (GAC)

Vice Chairperson, GAC – Joseph Gonzaga Sewungu (Kalungu County West)

Chairperson, Local Government Accounts committee – Martin Ojara Mapenduzi (Bardeg-Layibi constituency, Gulu District)

Vice Chairperson, Local Government Accounts committee – Paulson Luttamaguzi Ssemakula (Nakaseke South County)

Representative, Pan-African parliament – Patrick Nsamba Oshabe (Kassanda County North)

Representative, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association – David Kalwanga Lukyamuzi (Busujju County)

Representative, Inter-Parliamentary union – Flavia Kalule Nabagabe (Kassanda District Woman MP)

Parliamentary Pension Fund – Aisha Kabanda (Butambala District Woman MP)

NUP also seconded Jolly Mugisha, the NUP deputy President for Western region to the National Consultative Forum (NCF) as its Deputy Chairperson .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *