The number of unopposed MPs has increased to nine  after National Resistance Movement  (NRM) parliamentary candidate for Kibale County, Kamwenge district, Cuthbert Abigaba Mirembe’s challenger , Gibson Agaba of the National Unity Platform  (NUP) has been disqualified by the Electoral Commission ,.

Amanya was notified about his disqualification on Wednesday by the Kamwenge district returning officer, George William Magezi.

All the nine  unopposed  MPs  belong to the ruling NRM party . They are ,  Anita AMONG, Bukedea Woman MP, Lillian Paparu, Arua Woman MP,  Emely Kugonza ,  Buyanja East , Pius Wakabi ,  Bugahya Hoima District, Hilary Lokwang ,  Ik County, Kaabong District,Enock Nyongore , Nakaseke North, Nakaseke District , Gyavira Ssemwanga, Buyamba County, Rakai District, Mary Begumisa, Sembabule district Woman MP and  Eng Cuthbert Abigaba Mirembe ,Kibale county. This is the same number of unopposed MPs  NRM registered  in 2016 elections.

As the country prepares for the political campaign season and the 2021 general elections ,  figures from the Electoral Commission show that the 11th parliament will have a total of 529 MPs the highest number since independence .

At least there are 17.6M registered voters who expected to participate in the polls with 9.2 M of women and 8.4M male representing a 52.2% and 47.7% , respectively .

There will be  146 District Women MPs and  353  elected  Constituency MPs.  The special interest groups will have the Youth MPs 5,Workers’ MPs 5, MPs for PWDs  5,MPs for UPDF. 10 and a new additional special group of  MPs for Elderly  5.

The Electoral Commission will conduct the elections in  146 districts with  353 constituencies, 312 Counties, 2,184 Sub-Counties and 10,595 parishes.

The commission headed by Justice Simon Mugenyi  Byabakama has gazette  34,344 polling stations where Ugandans will exercise their constitutional right to vote for their leaders who will govern the country for the next five years .

The Campaigns have kicked off next month in what government says will be a ‘scientific’  elections to guard against the spread of the deadly global -novel- Covid-19 pandemic that has left over 1m people dead globally .

The total number of registered voters for the 2020/2021 General Elections is 17,658,527. The number of males is 8,439,564 (or 47.79%) while the number of females is 9,218,963 (or 52.21%), according to the EC Ag. Spokesperson ,Paul Bukenya.

why NUP candidate was disqualified

According to Magezi, Amanya was duly nominated on October 15 after he fulfilled the requirements.

Magezi, however, says that after his nomination, two of the voters, Charles Kakuru and William Ainomugisha who signed his nomination forms, petitioned the EC Chairperson,  Justice Simon Byabakama, claiming that one of Amanya’s agents obtained their signatures after deceiving them that he was an NRM aspirant.

The EC summoned Amanya and the two petitioners to its headquarters in Kampala where they reportedly said that Amanya’s agent had lied to them that he is an NRM aspirant. 

Magezi also says that Amanya admitted the signatures were obtained by an agent and it could be possible that the two were misinformed about his party. 

It is against this background that Byabakama nullified Amanya’s candidature, since it contravened Section 11(1) (a) of the Parliamentary Elections Act which requires that nomination of a candidate to be made by two registered voters appearing in person tendering to the returning officer. 

“That the decision of the Returning Officer, Kamwenge District nominating Mr Gibson Amanya is hereby reversed,” reads Byamukama’s letter to Kakuru dated November 4. 

Byamukama indicated that his decision was on powers he derives from Article 61(1) (f) of the Constitution of Uganda which empowers him to reverse the decision of the returning officer. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *