. Seven permanent secretaries retired in public interest

.Ministry of Science Technology and Innovation abolished

.Former FDC outspoken lady Beti Olive Namisango Kamya appointed IGG

Our Reporters

In yet another sign that President Yoweri Museveni wants to deploy a public service machinery that will deliver to the needs of the citizenry , he has made a major shake-up in public service bringing on board new fresh faces and retiring others in public interest.

In shake -up largely affecting Permanent Secretaries President Museveni appointed Makerere University academic  Dr Ramathan Ggoobi as the new permanent secretary Ministry of Finance, replacing long serving Keith Muhakanizi who has been ill and now has deployed  to office of the Prime Minister which is led by Rhobinah Nabbanja.

In a State House statement  Museveni also  appointed former FDC outspoken lady -Beti Olive Namisango Kamya the new Inspector General of Government. She will replace Justice Irene Mulyagonja who resigned from the post more than two years ago.

Senior State House employee -Ms Lucy Nakyobe Mbonye has been appointed  the new Head of Public Service and Secretary to Cabinet while Ms Jane Barekye has been deployed  the new State House Comptroller.

Mr. Robert Kasande who while Permanent Secretary at Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development -has overseen the final signing of the oil production agreements by the heads of state of Uganda and Tanzania , Presidents Yoweri Museveni and his counterpart , Samia Suluhu Hassan, respectively has now been deployed at Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs .  Diana Atwine has been retained at Ministry of Health even amid public outcry about parliament’s reports that there has been poor management of the resources allocated to the  national Covid-19 response.

High performing Ambassador  Adonia  Ayebare has been appointed Uganda’s Special Envoy and Ambassador to the united  Nations.  President Museveni’s son in law  Odrek Rwabwogo has been picked as  Senior Presidential Advisor Special Duties .

The Permanent Secretaries that have been retired in public interest include; Jane Kibirige the outgoing Clerk to Parliament ,  Kintu Guwatudde, Kivumbi Lutaaya, Pius Wakabi, Benon Mutambi, Amb. Patrick Mugoya and  David Ebong who has been the PS at the Ministry of Science ,Technology and Innovation which has been retired and abolished and its function taken to State House under Dr. Monica Musenero with big projects including Kiira Motors Corporation -Uganda’s Automotive Industry flagship that is championing green mobility technologies in Uganda and the African continent.   

See full list below;

By virtue of the Powers given to the President by Article 174 (2) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, I hereby, appoint the following as Permanent Secretaries as indicated below:

1. Head of Public Service and – Lucy Nakyobe

Secretary to Cabinet

2. Deputy Head of Public Service – Deborah Katuramu

And Secretary to Cabinet

3. State House Comptroller – Jane Barekye

4. Principal Private Secretary to – Dr. Kenneth Omona

to the President

5. Principal Private Secretary to – Alex Kakooza

H.E. the Vice President

6.  Office of the Prime Minister – Keith Muhakanizi

7.  Office of the President – Yunus Kakande

8.  Ministry of Agriculture, Animal – David Kyomukama 

  Industry and Fisheries Kasura (Maj. Gen.)

9.  Ministry of Defence and            – Rosette Byengoma

Veteran Affairs

10. Ministry of Education and         –       Kate Lamaro 


11. Ministry of Energy and               –       Batebe Irene 

Mineral Development

12. Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Vincent Bagiire

13. Ministry of Finance, Planning – Dr. Ramathan Ngobi

And Economic Development

14.  Ministry of Gender, Labour and – Aggrey Kibenge

Social Development

15. Ministry of Health – Dr. Diana Atwiine

16.  Ministry of Internal Affairs         – Joseph Musanyufu (Lt. Gen)    

 17.  Ministry of Information, Communication, Technology     –       Dr. Amina Zawedde 

National Guidance

18.  Ministry of Justice and              –      Robert Kasande

Constitutional Affairs

19.  Ministry of Lands, Housing       –      Dorcas Okalany

and Urban Development

20.  Ministry of Local Government – Benjamin Kumumanya

 21   Ministry of Trade, Industry and-       Geraldine Ssali 


22.  Ministry of Public Service – Catherine Bitarakwaate

23.  Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife     –      Doreen Katusiime

and Antiquities

24.   Ministry of Water and               –      Alfred Okidi


 25.   Ministry of Works and              – Bageya Waiswa


 26.   Secretary to the Judiciary        – Pius Bigirimana

 27.   Health Service Commission – Mary T. Wenene

 28.  Public Service Commission – Dr. Godfrey Mbabazi

 29.  Judicial Service Commission – Dr.  Nassali Lukwago

 30.  Ministry of Science, Technology

And innovation – Abolished and retired

31.  Ministry of East African

Community Affairs – Edith Mwanje

32.  Ethics and Integrity – Alex O. Okello

33.  Clerk to Parliament – Hon. Adolf Mwesige

34   Inspectorate of Government – Kafeero Rose

35   Education Service Commission – Dr. Asuman Lukwago  

Yoweri K. Museveni


15th July, 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *