Ministry Of Energy Permanent Secretary Eng. Irene Batebe Crowned Best Performer of 2023

Eng. Irene Batebe, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development (MEMD), has emerged the best performer of 2023 at the Ministry’s end of year party held at Nican Resort in Seguku.

Batebe was recognized for her exceptional leadership, unwavering commitment, and consistent performance exceeding expectations. She was saluted for streamlining the integration of the Rural Electrification Agency (REA) as well as her dedication to prioritizing MEMD’s set goals .

“Her can-do attitude and meticulous attention to detail were pivotal during the REA mainstreaming,” Dr Brian Isabirye, head of the selection committee and Commissioner of Renewable Energy at MEMD stated adding that she consistently put MEMD’s objectives above personal ambitions and demonstrated positivity, willingness to take risks, and innovation even during challenging times. “Her leadership made her the driving force behind MEMD’s success, earning her the title of a true star performer.”

Winner Eng . Batebe PS Ministry of Energy with wih her line Minister Dr. Ruth Nankabirwa

Other staff honoured at the event included Ms. Sarah Nafuna Acting Commissioner of the Nuclear Energy Department, was lauded for her leadership and for fostering a respectful and resilient work environment within the department.

Grace Nassuna, Assistant Commissioner of Geoscience, was recognised for her dedication and role in the enactment of the Mining and Minerals Act 2022. Tony Sserubiri, Principal Energy Officer, was commended for his dedicated and impactful contributions to the development of oil and gas in Uganda. Loyola Karobwa Rwabwose, a Mining Lawyer, received praise for her passionate and unwavering support across MEMD.

Tony Mwesigwa an Economist, was recognised for his consistent dedication and outstanding performance in planning and budgeting for MEMD. Judith Akullo a Senior Assistant Secretary, was commended for her exemplary support to administration and dedication to service. And Diana Rose Tumwesigye an Office Attendant, was recognised for her passion, dedication, and positive attitude, consistently supporting the office.

The Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Dr Ruth Nankabirwa who was the chief guest at the party, congratulated the team and emphasised the importance of continued collaboration and resilience.

“I have been demanding an end-of-year party for the Ministry staff (after the COVID-19 pandemic),” she said with a smile, “and today, I must congratulate the team for organising such a wonderful party at a Ugandan-owned premise.”

She celebrated the Ministry’s significant achievements, praising the hard work of everyone present and urging them to continue working together. “Be proud to be in MEMD,” she said. “We’re moving, and international companies are coming to Uganda to express interest in our business.”

Dr Nankabirwa also emphasised the importance of facing challenges head-on. “The IGG may come a thousand times,” she said. “We know people develop envy when they see us achieving, and it’s okay. Just tell them that we shall do our work.”

Ms Bateebe thanked the ministers for their stewardship and the staff for their dedication. “This year has been both successful and challenging, but we’ve overcome several challenges together,” she stated.

She warmly welcomed the new team members who joined the ministry during the year and encouraged the ministry staff to rest, recuperate, and enjoy the holiday season with their families.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *