The NRM Party 3rd  extraordinary meeting of the National   Conference has been postponed to August 18-20th, 2020 to allow for proper preparations  when delegates from across the country will elect the party’s top leadership while observing SOPs set up to stem the spread of the novel global covid-19 pandemic.

The national  conference which had been set for today running up to Saturday has been pushed forward on President Yoweri Museveni and party Chairman’s advice to have delegates follow the proceedings and vote in their respective districts instead of travelling to Namboole in Kampala as has always been the practice.

The delegates will now attend the national conference while in their respective districts  and follow the proceedings on giant televised screens in what has been dubbed “a scientific elections” season.   Although it could be a logistical nightmare to have a smooth run of the elections in a mass party like the NRM, political commentators says it would offer some interesting insights on how the general elections can be held while using similar methods .

Already , elaborate guidelines have been provided by the NRM Electoral Commission  Chairman , Dr.  Tanga Odoi to all NRM electoral officials across the country .  Among the posts up for grabs include that of the National Chairperson,1st National Vice Chairperson , 2nd National Vice Chairperson, (female) ,6 (six) Vice Chairpersons representing the regions of Uganda – East, Central, North, West, Kampala & Karamoja, Members of the National Executive Council ,Members of the NRM Municipal Executive Committees, Members of the NRM on Municipal Councils and Promoters of NRM (as specified in the First Schedule of the NRM Constitution 2015.

Others are Executive Committees of the NRM Branches in the Diaspora (yet to be constituted) , NRM Members of Parliament/flag-bearers; NRM Members of East African legislative Assembly (EALA),Members  of NRM Historical Leaders Forum , Members of the National Executive Committees of all Special Organs ,District Chairpersons/Flag bearers, Municipality Mayors/Flagbearers, Members of NRM District Executive Committees, Members of the District Executive Committees of all Special Organs, NRM members on District Councils,  Chairpersons of Sub-county Conferences .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *