The Uganda Peoples’ Defence Forces UPDF has elected its 10 representatives for the 11th parliament with new faces coming in and Security Minister and NRA hero , Gen Elly Tumwine losing his seat he has occupied since 1986.

The election conducted by the national Electoral Commission at Bombo barracks , according to EC Spokesman, Paul Bukenya, had Chief of Defence Forces, Gen David Muhoozi and his deputy Lt Gen Wilson Mbadi elected to parliament. The Minister of Works and Transport, Gen Katumba Wamala was the only army MP out of 10 who was returned to the House.

According to the statement issued by the Deputy Spokesperson, Lt Col Deo Akiiki quoted President Yoweri Museveni who chaired the UPDF Defence which elected the army representatives said the MPs should be “conveyor belts and listening posts in parliament”

“He added that this is on account of the history of Uganda which like some other African countries had become ungovernable and a failed state. The members of the Constituent Assembly found it wise to include 10 members of Parliament to represent the UPDF,” the statement said.

Museveni urged the new UPDF and other members of Parliament to support government’s seven key priority areas that include; equipping the army, roads, railway and water ways, electricity, health education, salaries for the scientists and the armed forces and wealth funds to fight the wide spread poverty .

“Equipping our Armed Forces to be second to none in our region of Africa; and I will not compromise on that.” Gen Museveni said.

The newly elected Members of Parliament to represent the Uganda Peoples’ Defence Forces are Col Dr Victor Nekesa,

Lt Col Charity Bainababo and Maj Dr Jennifer Alanyo. Others are Gen David Muhoozi, Gen Edward Katumba Wamala,Lt Gen Wilson Mbasu Mbadi, Lt Gen Peter Elwelu, Lt Gen James Mugira and Maj Gen Henry Matsiko.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *