Museveni Names New Electoral Commission Bosses Ahead of 2026 Polls

President Yoweri Museveni has named three new members of the Electoral Commission ahead of what is anticipated to be hotly contested 2026 general election in Uganda.

The new entrants are Dr. Ssimba Ssali Kayunga, a long serving lecturer in Political Science and Public Administration at Makerere University. Dr. Kayunga’s nomination underscores a potential shift towards academic expertise in the electoral process.

Others are Anthony Okello, former Kyoga County Member of Parliament, and Pamela Etonu Okudi, the current acting Head of Administration at the Electoral Commission.

New entrant Dr. Ssimba Ssali Kayunga

The Head of State has retained Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama, his deputy, Hajjat Aisha Lubega, Commissioner Stephen Tashobya, in their positions . One more slot is yet to be taken up and its not know when Museveni will make up his mind to fill it .


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *